top of page

Who We Are

Updated: Jun 17, 2021

The idea behind ‘Who We Are’ is to shine a light on yourself and other food service workers in our county and to blur the lines between ‘us’ and ‘them’. We are a family of dedicated workers and I encourage you to celebrate our connections rather than focus on our differences. We are all an important part of the world-renowned culinary scene in Portland and it’s time we see Who We Are.


Please contact us at mcfoodsafety@multco.us if you would like to be featured. Dare to see and be seen.


MAURO


Type of food service: Japanese Restaurant


Originally from: Oaxaca


How you got here: I started cooking by accident 27 years ago. I started as a pastry chef in San Diego for did that for 5 years. I moved to Oregon and while eating out one night, I started talking to the owners of a Japanese restaurant in Beaverton. She found out I was a pastry chef and asked me if I wanted a job. I did pastries for them for 3 months before they moved me to the back of house cooking. I worked the fryer, grill and saute. I wanted to learn sushi and so they moved me to the front and I have been making sushi for 16 years now.


Biggest challenge with food code: To get the staff to follow the rules. I always have to talk to them. I want to get a 100 on my inspection.


Favorite thing about the business: As a sushi chef I am right in front of the customers and I like talking with them. I also enjoy making beautiful and delicious sushi for them.


Hours worked daily: 10


Favorite food: T-bone steak, medium.

4 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page