top of page

Name That Bug!

  • I am a family of bacteria

  • I can be carried in the gut of chickens, cows, and other animals. When the animal is slaughtered, I can transfer to the part of the animal you eat.

  • I sometimes infect cow udders and can transfer to milk

  • Cross contamination is likely the biggest risk with me in your kitchen

  • I am one of the most common causes of diarrheal illness in the U.S.

  • Symptoms of my infection typically start 2-5 days after exposure and last about a week

  • My symptoms of infection include diarrhea (often with blood), fever, abdominal cramps and sometimes vomiting

  • I usually don’t spread from person to person

  • Most of my infections are linked to eating undercooked poultry

  • People normally don’t need antibiotics to get rid of me

  • A recent outbreak caused by me was linked to puppies

Who am I?

Many chickens, turkeys, cows, and other animals that show no signs of illness carry Campylobacter. Campylobacter can be carried in the intestines, liver, and other organs of animals. Proper sanitation when prepping and handling raw proteins is the best defense in eliminating this risk in your facility.

10 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page